Kokopelli Earrings (Part Un)

FullSizeRender (2)

Location: The Southwest, USA (Unknown Exactly Where); Material: Turquoise & Silver

The reason why I included the “Part Un” in the title of this entry is because this is not my only part of Kokopelli earrings.  These were actually my mom’s when she was younger, but I also have a pair of my own.  I like her’s a lot better than mine, so I wear them more.  For those who do not know what Kokopelli is, it is a fertility deity that resides over both fertility of humans (birth) and land (agriculture) and is associated with Native American tribes mainly located in the Southwestern part of the United States (New Mexico, Arizona, etc).  This deity is also known as the trickster god and represents the spirit of music (as you can see in the picture, it looks like the god is holding an instrument close to its face).  I love these earrings very much, especially because they represent a rich heritage of my country that goes so often forgotten.

Leave a Reply

