My Most Beautiful Scarf

FullSizeRender (6)FullSizeRender (5)

Location: Delhi, India; Material: Wool

The title of this entry narrates exactly how I feel about this scarf: it is definitely the most beautiful scarf I own or probably will ever own.  I was struggling very much to take a picture of it because I did not feel that a combination of my iPhone pictures and my lack of picture-taking abilities really did it justice, so these were the best I could do.  As you can see, I included two different pictures, one to get an idea of how the entire scarf looks, and the other for you to see the beautiful red-and-orange details.  This particular scarf was hand-stitched, purchased at one of the many government-owned stores in India that certify their products as authentic and true to Indian taste.  The salesperson at the store explained the pricing to my dad and I: the tighter and more detailed the stitch, the more expensive the garment.  Well, needless to say, I could not afford the silk and 100% pashmina ones, so I mainly looked at the wool ones.  I saw this one and absolutely fell in love.  When I found out the price ($100), I hesitated a little because I was on a student’s budget!  I am all about high quality, but I also am very careful to find items that are good quality, and reasonably priced.  This particular scarf took a very long time to make (I forgot exactly how long) and is very detailed (hence why I wanted to include a more zoomed-in picture), therefore, it was more expensive.  I am never one to ask for money, but my dad saw how much I loved it and bought it for me.  I adore it so much, I am so glad he was nice enough to get it for me!

Leave a Reply

