A Wooden Leaf in A Tropical France

FullSizeRender (8)

Location: Les Saintes, Guadeloupe, France; Material: Wood, Beads, & String

Last January (2014), when I went to Dominica on a class trip (a trip I discussed in one of my former entries already), we spent a day on the Caribbean island of Les Saintes in the French territory of Guadeloupe.  It was a beautiful, sunny day spent walking around, going into shops, seeing the sites, and swimming in the crystal-blue water.  One of my favorite parts of Les Saintes was the beautiful buildings.  They were all painted so colorfully, even the roofs!  Anyway, there was one store in particular that sold beautiful, handmade jewelry that I went into a few times.  After looking around for a long time, I finally purchased this necklace and pair of earrings there (which I will write about later).  I love this necklace.  Although it is a leaf, it feels and looks very beach-y and tropical.

Leave a comment