Paw Prints of the Atacama

IMG_8418

Location: San Pedro de Atacama, Chile; Material: Lapis Lazuli, Turquoise, & Copper

I bought this ring on my trip to Chile in May/June 2014.  In San Pedro de Atacama (the main place we toured/stayed, an isolated oasis in the middle of the Atacama Desert), there was a very narrow, mini market that sold a number of different souvenirs from everything made out of Alpaca wool, to shot glasses, to leather goods, to jewelry like this ring above.  In fact, this ring was the first piece of jewelry and first souvenir I bought while in Chile.  I saw it immediately at the first stall in the market and purchased on the spot.  It has the traditional copper and lapis lazuli that you find in Chile (because, as I mentioned in a previous post, those two materials are harvested in Chile), as well as some turquoise.  In addition, in San Pedro, there were wild dogs everywhere, one who we even befriended and who accompanied us on our desert adventures! So, I bought this ring with paw prints because I thought it would always signify my special memories of that trip with all of the friendly, kind, and loyal dogs.  I also thought it looked really unique!

Leave a Reply

