Beautiful Asymmetry

FullSizeRender (32)

Location: Unknown; Material: Beads

“Beads” is the best description I could give for the material of this necklace because I really have no idea what it is made out of.  It is another one of my mother’s pieces.  I really love this necklace, although it is not my usual pendant-style.  I wear it a lot, especially when I want to wear multiple necklaces.  I will often wear it with a necklace with a pendant on it.  The combination and opposition of the two different types of necklaces looks nice, I think!  To me, this almost looks like it is the string to reading glasses, but it is not.  I guess I could always use it for that if I ever need reading glasses!  Anyway, I titled this entry “beautiful asymmetry” because, as you can see, this necklace really is not symmetrical.  However, I personally love asymmetry (within reason, when is looks nice!), and I love it in this necklace.  One time, I was wearing this necklace while holding my guinea pig Casper, and he decided it would be fun to chew on it.  I tried to stop him, but as soon as the necklace was in his mouth, he chewed right through the string and broke it.  Needless to say, a number of the beads fell off and I lost a lot of the tiny blue ones.  But, I restrung many of them and retied the necklace.  The loss of beads and the (accidental) reconfiguration of the beads on my part really added to the asymmetry-and beauty-of this necklace.

Leave a Reply

