My Moonstone Love

FullSizeRender (38)Location: Varkala, Kerala, India; Material: Moonstone & Silver

I cannot impress upon you how much I adore these earrings.  I remember purchasing them.  My study abroad group and on were on our last stop on our travel week itinerary in India: Varkala, which is in Kerala, the only matriarchal state of India.  My friends and I were in a jewelry store along a cliff where there was a string of restaurants, shops, and bars overlooking a beautiful beach.  It was just after sunset and we were all going to the shops for some final souvenirs.  I walked into the store and saw an array of earrings on a very large board.  This pair immediately stood out to me and I fell in love.  I wear them very often because the moonstone and silver match clothes of all colors!  As you can see in the picture above, moonstone appears differently depending on the light it’s in.  This is one of my favorite properties of moonstone!

Leave a Reply

