Changing Time

IMG_8777_2

Location: Unknown; Material: Bronze

This necklace literally changes time because it is one of the parts of the old clock that used to hang in my Grandma Jean’s house/apartment.  As you can tell from the rest of my entries, I love vintage pieces; and when I was cleaning out my closet the other week and happened upon this piece (that fell off the clock), I knew it was too cool and unique-looking to just keep in one of my drawers, in storage.  A few weeks later (when I had purchased the above string for my other various string-less pendants), I decided to make this piece into a necklace.  Although I am not sure where my Grandma purchased the clock this piece belongs to, when I wear it, I feel like I am wearing a piece of my Grandma’s history, therefore my history.  Could she have looked at this clock to see how many minutes she had left before leaving to get married?  Did she look at it, waiting, as her first date picked her up to go to a drive-in movie?  Was it the clock she used to be able to find out what time it was so she could feed one of her five sons when they were babies?  Just the thought and mystery of all the possibilities is what I love about vintage items.  Below is the clock it is from, I still have it on one of my shelves, as decoration in my bedroom (:

FullSizeRender (55)

Leave a Reply

