A Fake Gauge Earring

FullSizeRender (56)

Location: Granada, Andalusia, Spain; Material: Unknown

This is a very interesting and unique piece, I do not have anything else like it.  What is it, exactly?  It is precisely what the title implies it is: a single earring that is supposed to look somewhat like a gauged earring, but is actually not (as you can see in the picture).  It is definitely a much artsier take on the traditional gauged earring.  This is probably because I purchased at a small artisan store in Granada, Spain, when I was traveling on a 7-day trip my university calls “freshman preview”.  I remember buying it like it was yesterday.  My friends and I walked into the store.  It was in a stone building, between two other stone buildings.  I remember having to walk up three or four steps to get to it.  The outside had alternative-type clothing on display, so I knew the place was going to be wacky, which I love!  As I looked around inside, I found a display of unique, handmade earrings like the one above, and decided I wanted to get one.  I finally decided on the swirl design.  To be honest, I have never really worn this earring, but that is mainly because it 1.) has broken a few times (as you can see in the picture, I messily glued it back together) and 2.) falls out of my earring lobe easily, so I do not want to lose it.  Either way, I feel like I brought a piece of someone’s art back from Spain, which I will always treasure.  I often try it on for fun!

Leave a Reply

