A Few Inches of Warmth in the Winter

IMG_8076

Location: Arcadia University, Glenside, PA, USA; Material: Yarn

In the above picture, I am wearing both something I have written about (the scarf) and something I have not (the winter headband).  Is that what they are called?  I actually have no idea.  They do something similar to earmuffs and hats, but we all know that they are not either of those things.  They wrap around your head, but can’t be called headbands.  So, they are winter headbands?  Well, that is what I call them and will continue to call them until I hear or think of a better word for them.  I purchased this winter headband at the last Arcadia University made sale I went to, in December 2013.  For those who have not read my other entries about Arcadia’s made sale, this is an annual event that allows the art students at my former university to sell their various handmade items.  I saw this and saw it was only $8, and I immediately knew I had to have it!  $8 for something good quality, good for the winter, and handmade right at my university?  I think yes.  This small amount of fabric made a huge difference for me during both dreadful winters of 2013-2014 and 2014-2015.  Who knew a few inches of fabric could make such a huge difference in my comfort outside?  I can assure you it definitely does.  Whenever I go outside in the cold and accidentally forget this, I am miserable and feel like my ears and head are naked and exposed!  I do own others like this, but this is by far my favorite.  The mustard yellow, gray, and maroon color really agree with my clothing color palette!

Note: The picture above is at Jones Farms in Shelton, CT, USA in December 2014, when my dad and I went to cut down our Christmas tree!  You can see an array of trees behind me.

Leave a Reply

