Snake Ear Pin

IMG_9028_2

Location: Species By The Thousands, Brooklyn Flea Market, Fort Greene, Brooklyn, New York City, New York; Material: Sterling Silver

This past April (2015), my friend Bethany and I ventured to the Brooklyn Flea Market.  It was my first time ever going to the Brooklyn Flea, despite my decades growing up outside of New York City. I love flea markets so much too, so I cannot believe it took me so long!  Depending on the time of year and day of week you visit the Brooklyn Flea, it is held in different parts of Brooklyn.  When we went, it was in Fort Greene, Brooklyn.  From antiques to thrifts to newly handmade items, Brooklyn Flea has such a vast array of beautiful furniture, jewelry, clothing, household decor, and more.  I was particularly drawn to a stall called “Species By The Thousands” (click here to see website).  After speaking with the woman at the stand (who I later found out was the company’s designer and jewelry crafter, Erica Bradbury), I learned a bit about the company.  It is Brooklyn-based (as are most of the stalls at Brooklyn Flea), has its own store (171 S 4th Street), and has already sold a number of their pieces to Free People.  Sounds like they have been very successful, yay independent designers!

At first glance, I had no idea what the above piece was.  When Erica told me it was an “ear pin”, I still was not exactly sure what it was.  She explained it to me a little bit more and I understood: it is a single earring (for lobe or cartilage ear piercings) that fits in one single piercing, but takes up a lot of space on the ear, very much like a pin one would wear on one’s clothes.  At this point, I was in the market for a new earring for my lower cartilage piercing after losing my former earring.  I tried this ear pin on and immediately fell in love with the cute squiggle and hammered texture of it.  I knew I had to have it, so I bought it and wore it out!  It took a while for my ear to heal from changing the earring to this (the bend in the ear pin sort of stretched the piercing out a bit) and can sometimes get a little sore, but it is healed and looking awesome!  I love how unique and beautiful this piece is.  I wear it all the time now (even when I sleep!).  As you can see in the picture, it goes very well with my other piercings’ earrings.  With this ear pin, I always carry around a piece of Brooklyn Flea with me (:

Leave a Reply

